Search the forum,

Discuss hot water only when heating is on in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Tosh

hi guys,
can anyone enlighten me as to possible causes why I should have hot water only when the heating is on?

The system looks like a boiler supplies the CH and the HWSC supplies the hot water to the taps. There doesn't appear to be a 3 port valve which I thought was the problem (the motor sticking or failing) just a 2 port going into the HW cylinder which I assume feeds the coil that heats the water.

Any advice as I'm still a novice at this.

Thanks gents and ladies

Tosh

Well Tosh i would have another better look round and try to find the two port valve on the heating side and check that syncron motor ok
I persume you mean you only have hot water when hot water and heating on
And check room thermostat turned up,sounds silly but with this hot spell ,few will be set high enough
Make sure radiator valves not closed down

as puddle says find the other 2 port it must be there somewhere strange not to have them close by
if the hot water is ok then that 2 port is fine but if heating not circulating that would indicate the other 2 port is maybe stuck closed may free up as hasnt been used for a good few months maybe

brilliant thanks gents,
going back in on Saturday for a proper look and hopefully repair it for them. Glad I wasn't going barmy only finding one 2 port, guess confidence comes with experience.

Thanks again
and yes puddle only getting hot water when the heating is turned on.
Tosh

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi guys,
been and done job. You're Absolutely correct the motor on the valve had siezed. Didn't think I was going mad though only found one 2 port valve which seemed to be working fine, when I spoke in detail to the customer he added,
'oh yeah, i boxed all the pipes and stuff in they looked awful'.

It's in the airing cupboard who the hell see's it!!!!!!!!