Search the forum,

Discuss Hot water issue which has me baffled in the Bathrooms, Showers and Wetrooms area at PlumbersForums.net

I would really like some advice about a problem with a hot water issue. I am a registered plumber and fitted all the heating pipes and hot and cold water pipework for my sisters house back in 2012. I also fitted a Megaflow unvented heating cylinder. Everything has worked really well until last week where she is having issues with her hot water. Her shower works fine and supplies good hot water, however she is not getting any hot water in her kitchen tap, or she has to run the water for at least 2 minutes until she gets some hot water from that tap. Then the water temperature varies and comes and goes.

I went to the property last Friday and could get hot water from the bath hot tap and the washbasin hot tap, also in the bathroom. I was also getting hot water in the downstairs bathroom washbasin tap but could not get any hot water from the kitchen hot tap.

The only taps or valves which have thermostats is the shower, which is working fine.

I have checked the megaflow and that is working fine and the pipework going out of the megaflow feels hot. The megaflow is on the 1st floor and next door to the upstairs bathroom. The kitchen is on the ground floor and the downstairs bathroom is next to the kitchen.
The kitchen tap is almost directly below the megaflow.

I just cannot understand what has caused this problem.

Does anyone have any suggestions on something I might have missed

Many thanks

Paul Cockhill

Is the kitchen tap a monobloc mixer?
Presumably the kitchen cold is fed directly from mains?
Is there a NRV on the kitchen hot?

Can you isolate the cold (only) at the kitchen tap, and/or same on the shower mixer?
Hi Basher, thanks for the reply.
Yes it is a monoblock mixer but I turned off the cold supply and just ran the hot through it but is was still just cold coming through
Yes the kitchen cold is coming from the mains