Search the forum,

Discuss HMO Refurbish with 5 bathrooms in the DIY Plumbing Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi

I am new to this forum so forgive me if I add this to the wrong place.

I have purchased a 2 storeys property which will be converted to an HMO of 6 Bedrooms and 5 bathrooms(3 on the ground floor and 2 on the first floor).

The property is derelict now so we will need to rip everything out and redo most of the pipework(there is only one bathroom for the time being).

The company we contracted to do the works advised they would like to use one of these combi boilers with an integrated water tank like the one below

VIESSMANN VITODENS 111-W ZK06239 GAS/LPG COMBI STORAGE BOILER​

Is this a good solution? if not I am assuming a system boiler with a water cylinder would be the best option?

I have not asked for any other information as I am also a total noob about these matters(although learning more by the day), but if there is anything else I should watch out for and you'd be so kind as to point that out I would thank you in advance.

Best

I would 100% be looking for an architect to spec the plumbing for a build like that unless you've got a really good plumber involved.

Water pressure and flow rates are going to be really important if you're going mains. Highly likely you could have all 5 bathrooms running at once during rush hour all using around 18l/min. You're into the realms of accumulators and possibly boosters depending on pressure and at least 300L of hot water stored, 11L/min hot water showering per shower doesn't last long and will only take 1 person to have a 20 minute shower to ruin it for everyone else. Plus pipe sizing will be important as all running at once will easily exceed standard unvented cylinders you'll need a 28mm cylinder and components