Search the forum,

Discuss Hiring an apprentice pros/cons in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

shyguy2005

Gas Engineer
After a long hard week I’m seriously thinking of taking on an extra pair of hands.

Anybody got any advice pros and cons on employing an apprentice ??

I’ve never done it before but finding it really hard going on my own at times especially when doing full heating jobs.

Tools end up in every room on the job , vans always a mess and just hard going.

So any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

I took on a school leaver on a government paid employment scheme. He lasted 2 weeks before phoning in to say that he wasn't coming in that week because he had a migraine.
The work he was doing was very little, and I was prepared to send him to college. He missed his chance with me and I told him to go do one.
There's so much red tape involved in taking on a 16 year old. They're not allowed up ladders, or to use power tools or anything that we plumbers do on a daily basis. In fact all they are allowed to do is to stand and watch and pass you tools from your tool kit. I HATE someone standing over my shoulder while I'm working, it's so off putting.
If you take someone on, look for someone whose part of the way through his apprenticeship and has been paid off because his firm has gone bust, someone like this will be desperate to work and to do their best so that they can finish their apprenticeship.
Some of these 16 year olds, expect to leave school and walk into tradesmans wages. They are the lazy barstwerds and the ones to avoid.
Think and chose very carefully.

Before I foolishly went back employed a couple of years ago I was debating whether or not to take on an apprentice.

The pros are
Cheaper wages whilst training
A second pair of hands for those awkward bits, heavy bits, high bits
Potential to grow business in a few years time
You can mould them to your way of working.

The cons are