Search the forum,

Discuss Hi Everyone! Advice for Teacher looking at a career change? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

knightandy

Hi,

I'm a technology teacher (woodwork/metalwork etc.) aged 43, looking at training to be a plumber.

I am considering doing a course run by a firm called 'The Trades Gateway' which covers:
[h=4]Domestic Plumbing and Heating Installer[/h]
  • City & Guilds Level 2 Diploma (6035) in Plumbing Studies
  • BPEC 1999 Water Regulations
  • NVQ Level 2 on completion of portfolio of evidence of on-site work
Domestic Plumber

• City & Guilds Level 3 Diploma (6035) in Plumbing Studies
  • BPEC Part P Defined Scope Domestic Electrical Qualification
  • BPEC Energy Efficiency Certificate
  • CSkills/BPEC Domestic Unvented Hot Water Storage Systems Certificate
  • NVQ Level 3 on completion of portfolio of evidence of on-site work

Anyone know if these are worthwhile (will the qualifications give me what I need to get started?)

I have a plumber friend who will let me be his slave to get experience and hands on training too.

Knightandy,
I too am 43, been in the Navy for 25 years and just joined this forum earlier. I saw your thread and thought I may be able to help; I am in my second year as an apprentice (since being de-mobbed) at Canterbury College. I attend one day a week and work for a local company, this is a must as you need evidence for your folio, it is my intention to proceed with NVQ level 3 next year.