Search the forum,

Discuss help with tap head kit in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

bammyjastard

hello guys, complete novice here hoping somebody can point out my schoolboy error.

bought a pair of traditional tap heads for my bath as a change of washer didn't solve the drip on hot tap.

fitted the reducing bush and bigger washer and stepped spacer supplied, so that it would fit the exixsting tap body.

screwed new set into old bath tap, replaced collar, screw etc., and before turning water back on, turned the tap....it just kept on turning. took it apart again and lower half of valve was just sitting loose in tap body.

Have I just bought the wrong thing?

Many thanks

Chris

possibly the bush you used makes the tap valve higher than if no bush used. can you get a different bush? what size taps have you got what size valves?

For what thesr conversion kits cost you can buy a Pr of new taps !

Perhaps the new works are too short for old tap body - if the washer doesn't reach the seating of tap, the works come apart.
As Jtsplumbing has said, a new pair taps are often cheaper!
Only use conversion works if they match old tap for depth inside.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to help with tap head kit in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics

Hi all, Sorry if it is a dumb question but .. I just fitted a 1/2inch tap washer to my basin tap and have 2 questions. 1. Is it normal for the washer to not quite fit the valve head, I had to take sandpaper to adjust it as I could not "squish" it in. Is there some kind of metric equivalent I...
Replies
Views
Helping a friend fit a new flush mechanism to his upstairs loo. No ball valve so fitted one of those in the process, hence needed to stop water supply from cold water storage in loft. He closed the feed from the cold water tank, tap stiff but didn't need any force with a spanner (wrench/grips)...