Search the forum,

Discuss Help with microbore connections! in the Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi all

I am in the process of replacing the boring sink and pedestal in my cloakroom with a free standing cabinet (with drawers underneath) and a basin on top of the work surface.

The house is 6 years old and all plumbing (apart from airing cupboard) appears to be 10mm microbore plastic. I have no experience with this stuff (only experience is with traditional 15mm and 22mm copper) and am unaware if the tubing used is actually pvc coated copper pipe.

The hot/cold feeds for the sink unit come down inside the cavity then pop out and connect to the flexis on my tap. This was not a problem with my old setup but with the new arrangement the plastic pipe protruding from the plasterboard is about 10cms too long in each case. I am able to push the pipe back into the cavity a little, but not enough to do the job!

This is a top view looking down as the hot/cold feeds come out of the plasterboard.

IMG_6894.jpg

So the challenge is can the plastic/copper pipe be removed easily from the elbow (perhaps a tool may be necessary), the tubing then cut and the shortened plastic tubing be reinserted? Naturally I would ensure that no water would be flowing in this plumbing before doing anything!

Here is a closer look at the elbow and the connection with the 10mm pvc coated copper pipe! I am not totally convinced that this tubing has a copper core but on the basis that it is not very flexible I am making an assumption! No doubt the experts out there can assure me that I will not need to hire an expensive tool just make this connection!

IMG_6894(1).jpg

Thanks folks, I appreciate any help offered.

Thats 10 mm plastic tube if its stiff chances are its speedfit.
The chrome elbows are demountable having turned of water and drained down the grey collet on elbow will push in and fitting pull apart.