Search the forum,

Discuss Help needed please as outside tap doesn't work in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

littlewren

Hi,

I used my outside tap last summer and when I went to turn it on today, it wouldn't work. What happens is this - I turn on the t part of the tap but it just unscrews, it doesn't seem to grip anything, it's like using one of those taps in somewhere like Homebase where they're not connected to a water supply but are just there for show. There is a nut underneath the screw section (where the t part comes off) but when I loosen this with a spanner, that's all that happens, it just loosens.

I don't want to call a plumber out for what might be a simple solution, but I am a complete novice - in fact less than a noive - when it comes to anything like this, but I was wondering if anyone could tell me in simple terms what I could do to solve it please?

Many thanks in advance,

Carrie

i would check inside to see if the water is switched off (which is should have been to prevent freezing during the winter) at a valve on the internal pipework try to follow the pipe where it comes through the wall from outside

Hi, thankyou for your reply.

There is nowhere inside that the water relating to the outside tap can be switched off apart from the stopcock, which of course is on, although it's stiffened up and can't be turned :( There's nothing separate for the outside tap and never has been. I've had the tap for about 5 years and never had this problem before.

Carrie

i would check inside to see if the water is switched off (which is should have been to prevent freezing during the winter) at a valve on the internal pipework try to follow the pipe where it comes through the wall from outside

BIB TAP.jpg