Search the forum,

Discuss help my wife in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

migoplumber

i have just tried to explain the principles of cylinders to my missus... she is still laughing at me blank faced.

can anybody offer my wife a different explanation please.
how does a combi work?
what is the difference between a cylinder and a combi?
what is the difference between an indirect cylinder and a direct one?
why would you choose a direct over an indirect?

thanks guys.

shaun
ps. its all my fault in advance as i am a useless teacher!

how does a combi work?
Like a turbo

what is the difference between a cylinder and a combi?
One's round

what is the difference between an indirect cylinder and a direct one?
One's an accusation - the other's a rolling pin

why would you choose a direct over an indirect?
Gets it over and done with

Probably doesn't help much but I've been to the dentist, got toothache and need cheering up

Hi.
1. insert a short bit of copper pipe into a length of hose, connect to cold tap hold copper pipe over gas ring and open end over sink. Turn on tap a little and light gas. Get her to feel for temp change at discharge end, turn up flow from tap water will get cooler just like a combi. Then the washing up
2. Us the same bit of copper warm up over gas and plunge in glass of cold water, note the increase in temp.
3. Now days direct may be used where the only form of fuel is electricity. Heated by immersion heater element (about now get her to put the kettle on that's direct) Put hose on hot tap and coil it to fit in a kettle full of cold water, That indirect. That the C&G passed. corgi next. Good Luck

What you need is an incentive.tell her as soon as she knows the answers to the listed questions she can get her hair done and maybe a new top
Mrs Shaun will be telling us the differances within 5 mins ;):D

Last edited by a moderator: