Search the forum,

Discuss Help - Engineer caused boiler to fail after 'repair' liability? in the Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello there,

I have quite a story and a looking for some advice here.

On Thursday during the cold snap our hot water stopped working (in the sense of not water at all coming out of the taps). The central heating was working fine. As I have two newborns and having encountered this for the very first time in my life I called a plumber which number was given to me by a friend.

He attended my House at 21:30h in the evening. He wasn't sure what the issue was and was starting to open the boiler and work on various things in the boiler. He soaked about 7 large towels with water when trying to release the water from the system (again as a layman I didn't know any better) When doing so water also got into the electronics board and the display, so the display does not give any information anymore what the boiler is doing.

He then got a lot of debris out of the system which seems to be coming from the radiators. At the end for a 3h work, he was not able to get the boiler going again. Subsequently leaving me with no hot water and no heating.

On Friday morning I called out another gas engineer who told me that the guy has worked on the central heating part and not the hot water parts of the combi boiler and that most likely he has stirred up some issues that are now causing the system to fail. He also told me that there shouldn't be a flood of water in boiler when releasing it from the system and what I described to him sounded to him like an 'incorrect way of emptying out the system to look at the pump'.