Search the forum,

Discuss Hello! Can Anyone Help With Strange Problem? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Juney

Hi, I am a newbie, and looking for an answer to what is happening with our water taps/pipes.

The single hole kitchen taps (1/4 turn I think they are called) are fairly new. Recently when you turn a tap on in the bathroom the pipes hum and vibrate, and the tap in the kitchen, although turned off, dribbles water. The same happens when the outside tap is switched on, the kitchen tap dribbles. It doesn't leak otherwise. We once turned off the water at the mains, and drained the taps - this stopped the humming for a while, but it has started again now. Any ideas? :confused5:

Hi, I am a newbie, and looking for an answer to what is happening with our water taps/pipes.

The single hole kitchen taps (1/4 turn I think they are called) are fairly new. Recently when you turn a tap on in the bathroom the pipes hum and vibrate, and the tap in the kitchen, although turned off, dribbles water. The same happens when the outside tap is switched on, the kitchen tap dribbles. It doesn't leak otherwise. We once turned off the water at the mains, and drained the taps - this stopped the humming for a while, but it has started again now. Any ideas? :confused5:

Ceramic discs in your kitchen tap are worn, so the vibration caused by water flowing through other taps is making them chatter. New cartridge or new tap, depending on whether spares are available for your tap..

Your water pressure is on the low side. Ceramic disc taps are sealed by the pressure pushing the discs together. A drop in pressure (when you open a tap) causes them to relax and pass a tiny amount of water which makes the noise or starts the drip.
If the taps are old new inserts or cartridges will fix it. If they are new bin them and buy better quality taps or ones with a washer.