Search the forum,

Discuss Greenstar 4000 combi consistently high pressure in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

I am a not an expert and worried about a boiler installation for my mum. She is 91 and lives on her own (vulnerable adult with dementia). I had a new boiler installed (Worcester Greenstar 4000 30kW Combi) end of August as she needs a reliable boiler.

I visit my mum every 2/3 weeks (I live in north of England, she lives in London) and noticed that water was coming out of the pressure relief valve on a regular basis (water on ground in garden outside boiler). I checked the boiler pressure and it was in the red area. I tried venting the radiators when the system was cold/off, however the pressure goes back up to the red. According to the manual urgent action is required.

I have called installers on three occasions, on the first visit (I was present) they removed a lot of water out of the system. However, the pressure went back into the red area. I was not present for the second visit, I understand a loop was replaced. This did not resolve the issue and I called for an engineer who visited yesterday. Again, he emptied water out of the system and adjusted the air pressure in the boiler (he used a air foot pump). The system was hot and still in the red but the engineer said that it did not matter as long as it was not in the red when cold. This morning I checked the pressure in the system cold before it switched on and the pressure was 2.5 bar (in the red).

I do not know what to do next, issue has not been rectified on 3 visits and I am concerned given that my mum lives on her own.

1) If the boiler is working normally would you expect water to come out of the pressure relief valve?

2) This is a new model boiler, are there any known issues?

3) The boiler switches off before the thermostat gets to target temperature (was 19.3C when I checked last, target 21C and boiler off), could it be over heating?