Search the forum,

Discuss gravity flow in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Can gravity flow work in a circular motion ? e.g. 28mm flow rising from stove accross ceiling down through cyl coil and return to stove under floor I know that this system has to be vented properly. I could fully pump as an alternative as the cylinder is about 5 m from boiler. I have plumbed similar when cyl is nearer boiler on platform or upstairs with a rise on flow and return and pipe stat to power pump for heating.
I usually run rising flow from cooker / stove to cylinder in 28mm and a direct 28mm expansion to f&e tank. I think expansion can happen through cold feed also. I put 3bar safety valves on all boilers that i install

Last edited:
Yes the flow must always rise

Hello all, I am a time served plumber with a lot of experience. I worked for a local plumbing company in Tipperary Ireland in '85 - 86 and then moved to London where I worked for companys there and also self employed. I worked in London for 14 years. In Ireland we still use imperial sizes e.g. 15mm copper is 1/2", 22mm copper is 3/4" and 28mm is 1". Also here in Ireland we use number codes for fittings, whereas the UK system describes the fittings e.g. male iron to copper etc.

Of course there is no solid fuel systems in The London area which leads me onto my query regarding gravity flow systems to solid fuel stoves.

I have plumbed many solid fuel stoves / cookers where the cylinder is near the stove, the cylinder can be put on a low platform to allow for a rise in the pipework to facilitate gravity flow. It is similar also if cylinder is nearby upstairs. The 1" or 28mm flow pipe can then be continued without any obstructions eg valves etc over the F&E tank as the expansion. The system can also vent through the unobstructed cold feed also fit 3 bar safety valve. When the heat goes on the gravity heats DHW, a pipe stat is fitted to the flow which powers the pump and heats the radiators

QUERY: