Search the forum,

Discuss Gas stove DIY modification - is this safe? in the Gas Engineers Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

I’m a hobby chef with a passion for Asian cooking, hence was looking for a way to tweaking my domestic gas hob to do a better job when cooking with a wok. The problem is that the largest flame on my hob is too widespread to generate the centric heat needed for a proper stir fry.

I modified a stainless steel cake ring to “funnel” the flame, see pictures attached. I assume most professional gas engineers will strongly advise against any form of modifications of this kind, but I was hoping for some judgement from the community, whether I’m putting my health and safety at serious risk here. I understand this could potentially generate incomplete combustion and hence carbon monoxide, although the flame is mostly blue, so should I be concerned about this at all or are there other aspects I might ‘or be considering that make this project a rather stupid idea altogether?

Thanks for your feedback.
Julian

AD19C4DB-FB59-482A-A805-E27FD1715757.jpeg0C6FA265-F45F-4D78-88A6-10D278271FDA.jpeg085299C3-67E1-48CA-A23D-BC824FE79E5D.jpeg

The problem is that the largest flame on my hob is too widespread to generate the centric heat needed for a proper stir fry.
You need to get your hob replaced with one that has a purpose designed 'wok burner'. These usually have the wok burner in the centre and four conventional burners at the corners. Installation needs to be carried out by a registered gas intaller.

I assume most professional gas engineers will strongly advise against any form of modifications of this kind,

You are correct.

I was hoping for some judgement from the community.
You are knowingly putting yourself and your family at risk of death or serious injury for the sake of your hobby. Cut it out now.