Search the forum,

Discuss freezing 8mm/10mm plastic CH pipe, is it ok? in the Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi, I have a leak on the live side of one of my rads, in the GF loo.
Its a condensing combi system, the house is only 5 years old, so fairly new.
The leak is at the bottom compression fitting on the lockshield rad valve.
The rad is a chromed steel towel rail, and the valve is brass/copper, the pipe that comes out the bottom of the valve and then disappears into the wall is 8mm or 10mm plastic pipe.
I've tried nipping it up a couple of times, but it is still leaking, only small amount, but its annoying.
I really don't want to drain down the whole system if I can help it.
I'm happy to try freezing the pipe, (using an arctic freeze type kit) but just a bit concerned that the plastic pipe may split?
I'm an old school plumber, (eg: 25 years ago!) and used to freeze pipes ok back in the day with a Rothenbergher kit, but all the pipes were copper and at least 15mm (1/2") back then.
How likely is it that freezing a small bore plastic pipe will split? or is it ok to freeze and not to worry about it?
Thanks for any info, been a long time since I got my tools out! Lol...

First I’d try undoing the nut and smearing a bit of paste on olive/fitting joint and retighten. As long as you hold the pipe this should be fine live.
Or get a turn or two of ptfe over the olive.

Would take the pressure off first then you can handle it fine might get a drip or two nothing that an old towel can’t fix

Would take the pressure off first then you can handle it fine might get a drip or two nothing that an old towel can’t fix