Search the forum,

Discuss financial benefits of solar hot water in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Deleted member 44451

can someone convince me of the benefits of solar panels. im a heating installer and as of yet struggling to be sold on the idea. if i have my facts right the maximum saving is approx 65% of the hot water use of a property.
most property's where i live are semis or 3 maybe 4 bedroom detached. everyone has washing machines (cold fiil only) dishwashers again cold fill only. the vast majority have showers these days so looking at the facts not much hot water being used.
i reckon that the hot water cost for a year would only amount to a few hundred pounds so saving 65% of this would take many years to pull back the outlay of installation of say 6k .
i can see the benefits to hotels and retirement homes but thats it.
my argument of course is on a financial level only and obviously theirs the cutting down on greenhouse gasses etc but as an investment to me the numbers dont add up.

I was once confused like you my son, but I saw the light:yes:

I fitted it to my own home, finished it at the beginning of November, since it was installed it has been running for 243 hrs.

2 x Worcester FKT panels, 300ltr Worcester cylinder.

Even today outside temp 8 degrees, the liquid temp is up to 42 degrees, bottom of tank is @ 18degrees (comes in @ 10/11 degrees) My boiler turned off @ 9am this morning 2 showers since.

I came in from work yesterday and the temp @ bottom of tank was 34 degrees, during the week the boiler goes off @ 8am.

I am sure come March when the outside temp warms up I will be able to turn off the gas boiler, heres hoping!!

I have wife and 4 kids using a load of water through 3 showers, each with 8 inch shower heads.