Search the forum,

Discuss Extending heating system in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi. My first post and I am not a professionel just a retired engineer and a keen diyer so please bear with me if I get some terminology wrong.
We are in the process of adding an extension to our house. Two floors. I am going to need to extend the heating system and am wondering what I should be looking out for. We will be using a professional to do the work but I like to understand what they will be talking about.
I have done some plumbing over the years, moving pipes, replacing bathrooms but I am not up to date with current regs and this is a fairly large job. We will be needing to add two or three radiators to a fully pumped sealed system which is about ten years old. Would anybody care to offer an opinion as to what I might expect to have to change. Mainly I am interested to have an idea as to whether adding radiators to the system will need more than just some pipework. For instance we have, in the existing system, two radiators just the other side of a convenient wall, one upstairs and one down, would it be possible to tee off the feed and return on these and go through the wall and then add a radiator the other side.
This for starters, if I am being an idiot I am sure someone will tell me but any comments and advice would be appreciated. I do understand I will probably need to give more details before anybody can comment.
Thanks in advance.
josh.

Wellcome Josh 10
Having rads installed back to back from a single flow & return is common place so this will not be a problem.
In simple terms the heating pipes have a heat carrying capacity depending on system designed temperature difference between the flow & return.