Search the forum,

Discuss Electrical fault finding? in the Gas Engineers Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

macka09

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Hi guys. I’m still very new to boiler fault finding but was wondering whether you could advise me on a particular multimeter or tester that would help with fault finding? The wife has been a good one and got me a Martindale ET5 open jaw tester but I’m unsure whether they’re any good? I can’t really find much on YouTube about them so any advice would be great. Plus, it’s not a cheapo, I thinks it’s inline with the Fluke 113 for price. Cheers

I bought a cheapish Extech one (approx £35), which was good, although the batteries kept coming out inside, but that might have been because I was a bit careless with it.
I then damaged the probes, but replacements were a little expensive. I then bought an Amprobe (now owned by Fluke) which is an ok bit of kit, abut more DIY, but they do better testers, cheaper than Fluke.

I’ve since bought a Fluke 117 (second hand from eBay), which hasn’t had much use. I use my 2 pole voltage tester more, probably because I don’t want to damage my multimeter 😉, but also because you’re now supposed to use these for dead testing.

Martindale produce decent equipment, so I’ll say it’s probably a decent piece of equipment, and ok as a multimeter.

Your Martindale ET5 does everything a reasonable multimeter would do, and to me looks a decent piece of kit.
I've an electrical background, and use a (Megger) Avo 410 amongst others, but your ET5 has jaws, and temperature measurement as well, so seems pretty well suited to me. It seems to have protection from being 'blown up' through selecting an incorrect range!
Just a question of getting familiar with it I guess?

General advice on fault-finding will be equally valid for any high impedance digital meter.

Don't use the ET5 voltage sensing feature for dead testing though! As per Undertrained, use a 2 pole voltage tester for that.