Search the forum,

Discuss Drips of Water from Pipe Next to Boiler? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

I have a small pipe (Picture below) just above my boiler that I noticed yesterday has had a few drips of water come out of it, it was a fairly rainy day so thought it may be related, however thinking about it it may have been dripping for months.

https://i.*********/7M5j6MD.jpg

Searching the internet the suggestions are this is a pipe where pressure is released if the tank upstairs has to much pressure in it?
I read I need to check my pressure gauge but I can not find one, checked boiler, tank upstairs and water tanks in loft.

As I am a complete novice I have no ideal what type of central heating system I have so no idea if I should have a pressure gauge or not, let alone any idea if this should or should not be dripping occasionally.

My home is a new build from 19 years ago, I have a boiler in the kitchen, a hot water tank upstairs and what looks like a big and a small water tank in the loft.

Please could anybody shed some light on what this drip from the pipe could be and what type of central heating system do I have?

Many thanks in advance for any replies.

Martin.

As Riley says its an mt cock, in a very poor state. What you need to realise is that in side is a rubber washer which has perished. So dont fiddle with it
the end has a square post and can be turned but LEAVE alone
esp as its Sunday. If your knowledgeabke and confident tell us what you would do if not call a plumber tomorrow
Rob Foster aka centralheatking

By the sounds of it, you have a conventional open vented heating system with gravity fed hot water. You will not require a pressure gauge with this type of system. The valve in the picture is as Riley said, a drain off cock. Looking at it, it's been leaking a while, if your not confident yourself, call a plumber to come a change the washer.

Many thanks for these fast and very helpful replies.