Search the forum,

Discuss Customers Neighbour. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Marples

My supervisor had me knocking out the cement round a flue this morning around 09:00-09:30. As i was chiselling away at the cement, the next door neighbour popper her head out of the window saying; "I wondered what the :nono: that was, can you not do that as i my son is in bed and is only a year old and his bedroom is not too far from from you"
I've never had someone complain to me and being an apprentice i didn't know what to say so i came out with "I'm sorry but there is nothing i can do, this job needs to be done"
then she says "you :nono::nono:head" and slams window shut.

Anyone had a problem like this or know of the best solution?
the job had to be done there and then.

Last edited by a moderator:
Had it loads of times, a man has to work. I have offered them the tools before and asked them to do it quieter if they can then carried on. The shoe may be on the other foot one day

what your boss say?. i wouldn't worry about it. you will get people like that sounds like you tried to be polite about it.
am not sure i would have tolerated being called that off her tough.i was bit like you as apprentice always trying my best letting things slide cos i wanted to see it through and get my qualifications. don't let people take liberties pal

As long as the noise is reasonable hours say 07.30 to 18.30 and not all day long, it's not unreasonable.

If it's a party wall it would be polite to let neighbours know, in the form "Just to let you know I WILL be making a noise"
Not "Can I make a noise"

But if the neighbours are :nono: :nono:heads anyway then ignore them.

If he approached it differently then I could look to do something else first, but sometimes you have no choice and as said if it is a reasonable hour then go ahead