Plumbase Perks - Special offers for forum members
This official sponsor may provide discounts for members

Discuss Connecting cistern to pan in the DIY Bathroom Remodelling Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

CorgiDirect - Discounted Corgi Related Documentation and Plumbing Supplies
As will be seen from the question below I am not very experienced but I have fitted a toilet before, successfully. This time I have a NOT cheap toilet with poor instructions - in fact none concerning fitting cistern to pan. I am having difficulty getting support from the supplier

• Somewhere it talks about a rubber gasket and in the drawing it looks tapered but I can't be sure. What I have is a flat, I think foam, gasket 1/2in thick. I am worried about tightening this all the way down so it doesn't sit proud and is watertight.I am sceptical that the foam gasket should be flattened that much and provide a good seal. It doesn't feel right to me but of course I could be entirely wrong.
  • There are 7 components on the bolts to attach cistern to pan - see image. I have no idea how these should be fitted and tightened.
  • It talks about a refill tube on the flush valve but doesn’t explain what it is for. Do I need one?
If anybody has the time to offer some suggestions I will be very grateful. Thank you

Attachments

Plumbase Christmastime

snowhead

Plumber
Assuming this is a close coupled pan with 2 small holes in the bottom of the cistern to fix the pan to the cistern?

I'd say they fit in the order they are now.
Remove the wing nut and large steel washer and brass nut and small brass washer.

Fit the bolt with the small O ring and tapered black washer through the cistern hole from the inside.
Put the brass washer and brass nut on and tighten against the cistern.
The fit the cistern to the pan and fit the large steel washer and wing nut on to the bolt under the pan.

The top of the brass bolt looks to be shaped so that something could clip onto it.