Search the forum,

Discuss Complete novice needs help. in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

I think I initially posted this in the wrong place,so I am adding it here. I hope someone can help

Hey all

I know this kind of post has probs bin posted before, but I am at my wits end. My landlord is abroad, and with Covid I'm trying to sort out something before the expense of a plumber.

So I am hoping someone will be kind enough to give me some advice.

Basically my kitchen sink has been blocked, water not going down. So I tried plunger, One Shot type liquid, even bicarbonate of soda with vinegar. No luck.

And here is where my problems really began.

You probably know where I'm going but I googled it, found lots of sites saying 'before you use a plumber...'
All advising me to unscrew the u bend, (sorry if my terminology is wrong) clean out any sludge, screw it all back in. I did all of that.

The problem is, that when I put it all back together, and turn tap on, the pipe which is supposed to fit snugly onto the pipe which carries the water out, no longer fits snuggly, and so water gushes out of there.

There was no leaking prior to me undoing it all. This, logically tells me that I am not pushing the pipe into the main one properly, or I'm missing a vital component (ie upon taking it apart I've lost something)

Its not that it doesn't fit at all, its just when I push it to fit, it fits but sort of hangs,unlike say the other bits that have a tight washer

I have attached a photo of the pipe which carries the water out,and the end of the u bend pipe which no longer slots in so that it's watertight.

I am just wondering if I am missing something fundamental, or I could buy a fitting to make it fit tighter. I've bought heavy duty gaffer tape.

Any help is much appreciated. I have a bucket so its not like I can't use the sink at all.

Thanks all.

Attachments

I think I initially posted this in the wrong place,so I am adding it here. I hope someone can help

Hey all