Search the forum,

Discuss Combi boiler losing pressure - No leaks, many new parts, but still... in the UK Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

I'll pop this into the general advice forum as it seems the most active, but mods - feel free to move if there's somewhere more appropriate. Thank you!

---

Apologies, but yet another "boiler losing pressure" thread - I've read many others, but am no closer...

Not my boiler (parents), so consider me a proxy. I'm also by no means a heating engineer: I'm just looking for pointers, as my folks are now caught firmly in a circle of finger-pointing, as nobody will take responsibility, it's all someone else's fault, and they're just going around in circles.

~5+ year old Ideal Vogue C32 combi boiler, still under warranty, regularly serviced. Losing pressure over hours (more often) to days (rarely) - mostly overnight, when cold. Has been doing this for ~3 months; boiler has never been 100% reliable, and would sometimes "die" if left unattended for a couple of weeks, especially in cold weather (no further details on the nature of this, merely that it couldn't be relied upon to e.g. keep frost at bay).

No signs of any leaks. No signs of any water egress anywhere (and this has been going on for months, so there's a good chunk of water missing - imagine 50 to 100 filling cycles). No water coming out of the external pipework (plastic bag over the end, dry). No plasterboard staining or damage. No corrosion on any valves. No wet grout where pipes go through screed in kitchen. No signs of damp around or below the boiler.

On manufacturer's advice, boiler has been isolated and repressurised. Still loses pressure. Suggests boiler at fault.

PRV has been changed. Heat exchanger has been changed. Diverter cartridge has been changed. No improvement - getting worse, if anything.