Search the forum,

Discuss Cold tap in upstairs bathroom flow problem in the Bathrooms, Showers and Wetrooms area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi all,

I'm having an issue with the cold tap in my upstairs bathroom. There is barely a trickle of water coming out, while the hot water tap is running fine. I'm not having any problems with any other cold taps in my house.

A Google search suggests that there may be an airlock in the system.

I have attached a picture of the type of tap that I have.

image0 (4).jpeg

Is there anything I can do to try and rectify this issue myself before getting a plumber involved? I am a total novice when it comes to these things.

Many thanks in advance!

If you have hot water its unlikely its an air lock most likely the washer is trapped. Do you have service valves on the pipes under the basin? if so turn the cold off, the top part of the head unscrews just above the gold rings. The screw underneath will then be visible, remove, and the head will come off. You can then take the valve out and check the washer. If you dont have valves on the pipes you may be on a tank supply, try by turning the cold mains off and checking you don't have water through the tap. If you have, better let a plumber look at the tap for you. Good luck.

If you have hot water its unlikely its an air lock most likely the washer is trapped. Do you have service valves on the pipes under the basin? if so turn the cold off, the top part of the head unscrews just above the gold rings. The screw underneath will then be visible, remove, and the head will come off. You can then take the valve out and check the washer. If you dont have valves on the pipes you may be on a tank supply, try by turning the cold mains off and checking you don't have water through the tap. If you have, better let a plumber look at the tap for you. Good luck.
Hi, thanks for getting back to me.

Are these the service valves?
8FE29CC0-4FEF-4285-9EDD-1D65DEF11A02.jpeg