Search the forum,

Discuss Chasing water pipes into the wall - opinion in the UK Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

I apologise in advance that this might not make sense or be full of silly/obvious questions, but I am a novice at all this!

We have recently knocked through from our kitchen to a new extension to create an opening. Various things have been moved from the wall that was knocked through, including the fuse board and electricity meter. The walls have then just been plastered over last week.

One thing that remains though, is water pipes. This is my first time dealing with this so apologies if this is wrong - we have two pipes that come from the bathroom upstairs, directly above the kitchen, down the kitchen wall and then make their way to the sink behind the kitchen units. During the knockthrough and to make room for the plastering, the builders have put a right angle pipe in and replaced the old copper (I assume copper) pipe with plastic pipe. They are currently away from the wall as the plaster dries.

I think these two pipes are hot and cold water - they are 15mm piping going from the label on them so too narrow for one to be waste I assume? Photo attached of the current set up to hopefully help (please excuse the mess!)

PXL_20221115_191931546.jpg

PXL_20221115_191938520.jpg

I thought that these pipes were going to be in the wall (we were away during the plastering phase) but is there a reason they couldn't be? I haven't yet had chance to speak to the builder about it. I believe it isn't common practice to chase waste pipes into walls, is the same true of hot/cold water?

We are having a new kitchen fitted - the fitters are coming for a final survey and said they could probably bring the pipes straight down vertically alongside the edge of the new opening, box them in with plywood that could then be painted the same colour as the wall.