Search the forum,

Discuss Changing to tap that has flexible tails in the DIY Plumbing Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello,

I have bought a new tap for my kitchen as the old one is leaking and not working very well even after changing the cartridge. The current tap is connected directly by copper pipes but the new tap I've got has flexible tails.

My plan to change the tap is:
  1. Note which pipe is hot/cold
  2. Turn off the isolation valves for both hot and cold pipes (there are isolation valves already fitted)
  3. Cut the 15mm pipe - the tails are pretty long so should be fine for length as they will reach easily
  4. Remove the tap (undo the bolt keeping it on and then remove)
  5. Put in the 15mm to 3/8" reduction adapters I've got, as the tap is a Grohe with the smaller connectors
  6. Secure the new tap to the sink
  7. Connect the tails to the 3/8" adapter making sure there are no kinks or twists
Does this seem reasonable? I'm a novice DIYer but after watching some YouTube videos it seems pretty straight-forward but I want to make sure I'm not missing something that isn't going to work. I'll attach some photos of the existing pipework and the new tails.

One question I have is that the pipework looks kind of corroded - probably from water running down from where the tap hasn't been sealed properly? Does that pipework look like it would need replacing in any way?

Thanks a lot!

Attachments

• IMG_3259.jpeg
    IMG_3259.jpeg
    87.6 KB · Views: 19
  • IMG_3262.jpeg
    IMG_3262.jpeg
    138.6 KB · Views: 19
Yep you will have to file the ends of the tube tho after you have cut them square so you can get the fittings on as hacksawing leaves a burr
And you might need to file the solder marks eg the silver bits

as for the green get some hot soapy water with a Brillo pad and give them a clean

Yep that sounds like a good plan, just think about how much length you need to leave on the 15mm copper pipe for the flexi pipes to sit appropriately.