Search the forum,

Discuss Changing taps - can't work out the cold flow set up in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi, I am a DIY plumber and was going to change the mixer tap in the utility room (the old kitchen from the 70's) and I am puzzled by the cold flow.

On the image starting from the pipes in on the bottom of the cabinet. On the left is hot, on the right is cold. The cold services the tap and the washing machine. There is an isolation valve for the cold tap and a separate plastic tap to isolate the washing machine. I have no issues with these apart from every conceivable joint/valve is being used.

The middle pipe at the bottom of the cabinet is also cold. It has an isolation valve with the blue tap and feeds around and into the cold tap/washing machine feed. Although this does not stop me from changing the mixer tap I have no idea what it does and why it runs this way. Any ideas?

Also, would I be better off remaking everything as at present there is copper pipe to the tap and I can replace with tails feeding into isolation valves as well as removing the push fits and replacing with various end feeds and replacing the plastic tap for the washing machine with an isolation valve with handle.

Thank you

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2021-06-14 at 11.06.15.png
    Screen Shot 2021-06-14 at 11.06.15.png
    2.5 MB · Views: 36
I can only fully see a full bore isolation valve (blue handled) and partil see a blue handled valve, but could be connected to the hot for the washing machine? Take a few more photos, or one a little further back. Also as for changing the pipes, that’s a personal preference generally.

Are you saying that the pipe seems to go around in loops and then back on itself for the washing machine?