• Welcome to PlumbersForums.net - The international plumbing advice forum. Professional plumbers sharing advice with fellow plumbers and DIY alike. Register for free today!

Discuss Care home UFH wired incorrectly in the Water Underfloor Heating Installations area at PlumbersForums.net

Reaction score
I’m an electrician, a plumber has asked me to look at wiring in a care home for UFH with a system boiler.
Only way to get it to work is run everything constantly.
The wiring center was a mess, i’ve rewired and now working as expected.
However, it appears to me there is an unnecessary valve. On the heating side there is a master valve (S-Plan), then behind this two manifolds with thier own valves. The master valve was wired to be constantly open.
I’ve rewired for it to only open when one of the UFH valves is calling for hot water.
I’ve been told UFH was installed by one company and boiler by another. So I wonder if boiler engineer installed S-Plan, and UFH just fitted to this.
I can’t see any reason for the master valve (S-Plan). I’m gonna suggest to plumber to remove as I just can’t see any reason for it and I think this will simplify installation, what do you think, am I missing something.
To be clear I’m ignoring hot water in this post, that all works fine.

OP
Michael Groves
Reaction score
Photographs might help if you have any?
Unfortunately I’m not back for a while, but photos probably won’t help anyway as the installation is spread out across the property.
To put it another way, the installation has two valves in series. Is that normal with UFH?

OP
Michael Groves
Reaction score
Here's a brief diagram, hopefully this makes more sense than my text.
To recap, I don't see why you need a "Master Valve"

20190226_074439061_iOS.jpg

OP
Michael Groves
Reaction score
You sure it’s not a 3 port would make sense
When you say "3 port" I guess you are referring to Harvest Fields suggestion as opposed to a 3 port valve?