Search the forum,

Discuss Cannot get my heating timer to work! in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello,

Newbie here, appreciate the help in advance.

Moved into a new property last year and kind of forgot about the problem over the summer and with life. Now its getting chilly again the problem has re surfaced so hoping to get some advice.

I have a combi boiler with a Drayton Lifestyle Programmer and x2 thermostat's, one in the hall downstairs and one in the master bedroom upstairs. I have the timer set for the heating to come on twice in the day, morning and evening. The problem is the heating comes on whenever it pleases and seems to based on the thermostats not the timer. I have checked the time on the programmer, checked the timings set and checked that it is set to timed, everything is correct.

I would expect the thermostats to be set to say 20 and for the heating to heat up the house to this temperature for when the heating programmer is set to come on. It is likely i am being stupid but any help would be amazing!

Thanks,

Josh

Good evening Josh,

Set the programmer to off, turn the thermostat’s up, if they bring the heating on then the programmer has been bypassed.
Hi,

thank you for the quick reply!

I turned the stats down, programmer off. wacked 1 stat all the way up and the boiler fired up so that sounds like the problem! The next question is what do I do next?

Thanks again,

Josh

Are they programmable room thermostats or just plain dial types? If the latter may, and you want timing then you either need to link them back up with the programmer or purchase some programmable ones. I’d say you have zone valves as well with having 2 thermostats.

Are they programmable room thermostats or just plain dial types? If the latter may, and you want timing then you either need to link them back up with the programmer or purchase some programmable ones. I’d say you have zone valves as well with having 2 thermostats.
Thanks again,