Search the forum,

Discuss Can I stop my boiler from coming on randomly several times a day? in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

S

Steve Handly

Hi, I have some knowledge of plumbing and heating and have installed several in my time.

I have a new Worcester Bosch Greenstar 40CDi Classic Regular Gas Boiler (Gravity Fed System) new boiler and it was installed by a British Gas engineer recently, as I wanted a Gas Safe certificate with this install and received one.

Looking at the install paperwork, I can see a number of install checks were carried out and he left all this information on this with me and on the Worcester install paperwork.

My old boiler (An old Worcester 40 CDI - like for like replacement) would only come on (Gas) upon request. My new replacement Worcester Bosch Greenstar 40CDi Classic seems to come on several times a day. Is this normal? I assume it comes on when the temperature of the water falls below a certain degree?

Ideally, I assume that I would only want the boiler to fire up when required (Like the old one), regardless of what temperature the water is. I feel it's coming on when the temperature falls below a certain degree. When it randomly fires up the hot water and radiator values are not open, I assume it is using some type of internal bypass value (I think the new ones have this and I therefore removed my old by pass valve, as I always had air lock problem in this area and all seems fine) rerouting the water (loopback) so that overheating does not occur and to stop the boiler from getting too hot and then burning out / causing problems (?) .