Search the forum,

Discuss British Standard Pipe sealing, taper and parallel in the Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

I'm new to this. Could you explain please: this fitting is described as - 'Brass Threaded Elbow - 1" BSP TM x BSP PF Elbow BSP Taper Male x BSP Parallel Female' - but I can't see any kind of mating face on the female side so I'm wondering if it's actually an Rp taper female rather than a G as it's described, or if I've not understood something. I'd like to understand for sure the distinction between G and R threads and particularly how the G fittings seal so I don't go and buy a bunch of subtly incompatible fittings. Much thanks.
1in-bsp-taper-m-x-bsp-parallel-f-elbow-brass_min_10547_P_1[1].jpg

There won’t be any shoulder / sealing face in the female end as you would ptfe / thread seal the tm threads that your inserting into the fp

Aslong as it’s bsp will fit but ideally you want male threads to be tapered as it provides a better sealing force / better overall design

There won’t be any shoulder / sealing face in the female end as you would ptfe / thread seal the tm threads that your inserting into the fp

Aslong as it’s bsp will fit but ideally you want male threads to be tapered as it provides a better sealing force / better overall design
I can understand that a male R-thread will seal in a female G-thread as it seals on the threads in exactly the same way as for an Rp, but the fitting is described as a female G-thread and so I was expecting to be able to fit male G-threads in there with success, but I don't believe that will work as there is no sealing face as as I understand it parallel fittings do not seal on their threads. It is not clear to me how I should recognise a female fitting designed to accept a male parallel thread if a fitting described as G is actually Rp.