Search the forum,

Discuss British Gas and their fascination with Power Flush... in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

asadm

Let me start by expressing that I am a complete layman when it comes to plumbing but am in need of some professional advice. I have had a British Gas (BG)Maintenance Plan for almost 4 years and as part of this they are responsible for the annual maintenance/Service of my system. I recently encountered an issue with my system and when I called upon BG, they advised me that my system has sludge and they do not cover that as part of their contract and I can pay them £600 to have this removed through a Power Flush. I then sought independent advice and have arrived at the conclusion that the reason for this sludge is due to corrosion of the system (seems like a natural reaction when water, iron and air are mixed). I understand that this can be prevented through an annual system drain down and application of inhibitor. It can be further improved by the use of magnetic filters. I stressed to BG that this has neither ever been carried out by BG or advised to me. BG responded by stating that this is not part of their routine service policies.

In conclusion, I feel that it is unacceptable that I am being charged a premium amount for the maintenance of my system by a reputable company such as BG and yet this has never been carried out or deemed necessary. Not including this step for many years will inevitably lead to sludge in my opinion, which BG then subsequently demand a exorbitant amount to resolve. If my assumptions are true then surely the sludge is due to negligence on the part of BG. Can you please help me with this by clarifying whether I have a case to pursue against BG in this situation and whether this is an issue of their making? Appreciate your help with this.