Search the forum,

Discuss Bottled butane tightness test in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

gary

Hi guys

Hoping someone with LPG knowledge can help. I am a reg gas engineer on nat gas domestic, but have just moved in to a caravan while do a build project. I've connected a butane bottle to a oven/cooker, radiant fire and water heater. On doing a drop test found there to be a drop of 6mb. This is doing a drop test as you would for nat gas. I have searched high and low for a leak and can't find one. With all my stuff being in boxes I can't refer to my books, so was hoping someone on here could give me a heads up with what to look out for with possible caravan issues.
Cheers

Criteria are completely different for LPG but a 6mb drop is ID. Do you not know anyone locally with a caravan ticket that can help you out? Testing criteria for closed flue fires and ventilation requirements are completely different as well.

Have you tested to 28mb...stabilised for 5 min then tt for 2 mins? and how long are you gonna be in the caravan??? If planning on being there for a while you'd better off with propane. Also check the valve on the gas bottle...that could be leaking.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Think you should be on Propane and not Butane, burnes to hot, more for BBQ ect

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to Bottled butane tightness test in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics

I've air tested pipework for years, typically 4 bar for 30 minutes. I've never had an issue with any pipework that has passed that test, occasionally you get a small leak from the air test typically old cap ends/scratched pipe which shows up easily on the test without having to inspect anything...
Replies
Views