Search the forum,

Discuss Boiler service in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

ma701ss

Hi, just looking for some opinions from gas engineers. I hadn't had our boiler serviced for several years so decided it was a good idea to have it done. I asked an engineer how much for a boiler service, he said £70. I wasn't at home when he turned up but apparently was here for 20-30 mins, did some kind of emissions test (there was a printout) and issued an annual gas safety cert. I left a copy of the service manual in case he wasn't familiar with the boiler. I'm not a gas engineer but surely it would take more time than this to (and I'm quoting from the manual's service section) check the spark electrode for damage, clean the burner, combustion chamber and heat exchanger, flush the condensate drain and carry out a combustion check. Now whether or not you'd charge more than £70 for that, these are the servicing requirements and I asked for a boiler "service" not a gas safety check. He left with the boiler still having the ignition fault flashing.

Last edited by a moderator:
service procedure aside ,if it had a pre existing fault,as you said still having the ignition fault flashing,a service wont cure this,you have a fault that needs investigating and charging for separately ,however if it needed a full strip down service,thats what it should have got

what you needed was a repair doing and a service done on completion, depending on the boiler MFIs for what needs doing. As you say you've had a safety check, but it could be you were trying it on a bit and now your a bit miffed you've been caught out. So now you need to get someone to do the repair and actually service your boiler, which like a car should be done annually. This it keep going longer and work more efficiently