Search the forum,

Discuss Becoming multitrade in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

sparkman

Hi, i am currently a 3rd yr apprentice electrician and am wondering if you need to be multi trade now days? i was thinking about doing a plumbing,bricklaying or joinery course but unsure which one?

Plumbing and electrics is a good combination.

I wet plumb, gas and oil plumb and I'm qualified for renewables solar thermal and Ground/Air source heat pumps plus I service appliances and do domestic electrics. All that and I know how to plaster & tile to a professional standard too. I've stopped doing the tiling/plastering as it's messy hard work, but I think you get the gist. It's good to have a few strings to your bow. Just don't over do it and be a 'jack of all trades, master of none'.

Last edited:
Hi. The skills as a sparks are transferable. You measure, mark and mitre cable duct etc as an example, you work in places where the skills you mention are taking place. Why not communicate and watch and ask those doing it. Most of us with skill are only to pleased to show off to others if an interest is shown. Questioning you reasons, if money is your goal (as mine was) you will find sparking to be far superior money wise. With the introduction of renewable energy and the compliance that surrounds it. I feel sure electricians with a handle on this technology will be in great demand as it rolls out.

"Sparking" or "Ladies work" :) if you like. It's a good money spinner and mixes with Plumbing at many points. So its worth while doing a course in it.

Mind you it depends how far you want to go with it? Are you going to want to work on the National Grid, build computerised electronic systems, commercial, industrial or just stay domestic?

Funnily enough most people even Plumber's on the website don't seem to talk much about going into the commercial or industrial Plumbing markets?