Search the forum,

Discuss Baxi Platinum 28HE - Condensate problem in the Gas Engineers Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi, Noob here

Struggling with a Baxi Platinum 28HE. a few years ago, the boiler was (almost) completely rebuilt with about 99% new parts. but today, it stopped working with an E133 fault code. I checked the Condensate pipe and it wasnt blocked. I took the front panel off the boiler and it looked a bit damp, so I took the cover plate off to reveal the heat exchanger, expansion tank etc. This level was flooded with water which I then cleaned up. The condensate pipe that is connected to the bottom of the heat exchanger is leaking, it must have some sort of back pressure forcing water back up the pipe. I found the Condensate trap and took the bottom off. it looks like its an original piece left over from the original boiler. It didn't feel particularly tight and when i removed it, I had a lot of water drain out of the system. It had crud in the bottom of it which I cleaned out. I've replaced the bottom of the trap and the boiler works fine.... for the moment...

So, my question is, what would cause water to back up and try and exit the top of the pipe (below the the heat exchanger)? I'm guessing I haven't sorted anything out here, just buying some time as I would assume that the trap will just continue to fill up and eventually back up again until i can determine why its happening. Should i remove the entire trap? it doesn't look to difficult. I'm also not sure if its supposed to be primed or whatever??

any thoughts?

SirLostit

Reply to Baxi Platinum 28HE - Condensate problem in the Gas Engineers Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics

• Useful