Search the forum,

Discuss Baxi has me scratching my head in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
HI, I'm looking for some advice from someone who may have encountered my problem before. I'm a gas engineer and i have been trying to solve an issue with a baxi duo-tec 28 HE. The boiler randomly calls for CH when the thermostat is not, the green LED lights up for around 5 minutes before deciding to fire up. I have exchanged the old thermostat (Salus) and replaced the primary ntc sensor and still have the same problem. Baxi technical are adamant that it's the new thermostat but like i had said it is brand new. Can anyone help me at all? Thanks.

Are you getting any calling for ch ?

Are you getting any calling for ch ?

The thermostat fires the CH when it's turned up straight away. But once you turn the thermostat to off the CH will stop then shortly after the boiler seems to think the thermostat is calling for heat agaim. Everyone I've spoken to is just as baffled mate

The thermostat fires the CH when it's turned up straight away. But once you turn the thermostat to off the CH will stop then shortly after the boiler seems to think the thermostat is calling for heat agaim. Everyone I've spoken to is just as baffled mate

I'm not familiar with the specific model and am too lazy to check right now, but for this sort of issue:

Make sure you aren't using a 24V thermostat on a 240V system.

If it's an on/off control type use a light switch in a plastic box as a 'dummy' thermostat. Try it connected instead of the Salus and if 'symptoms persist' directly into the boiler using relatively short leads.

Faulty wiring (borrowed neutrals, leakage across terminals in junction boxes, etc.) can cause strange symptoms. Find a sparks who likes CH doing controls (many don't IME) to help with these.