Search the forum,

Discuss Basin waste size help in the Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello.

I am in the process of trying to replace the Unslotted basin waste on the hand basins in my bathroom, but am a little confused with the sizing as I have little experience of plumbing. From what I can see the the waste I have removed has a diameter of 40mm but the trap that this screws into has a waste pipe inside of it with a 32mm. I’m hoping to just replace the waste and leave the rest as is.
I know most hand basins take a 32mm waste but this doesn’t seem to fit with the size of the one I have removed but does with the trap pipe. Pictures attached.

my question is do I need to buy a 32mm or 40mm waste?
32F6A2AE-9437-4744-8BDF-CE19CFF38B6C.jpeg
F6E9E6F6-378E-44FA-B2EC-99E43CEB6B67.jpeg

If the outlet size of your trap to wastepipe is 32mm (1 & 1/4” standard) then purchase a 1 & 1/4” unslotted basin waste.

If the outlet size of your trap to wastepipe is 32mm (1 & 1/4” standard) then purchase a 1 & 1/4” unslotted basin waste.
Agree. The 1.25" is the nominal inside diameter of the tube (1.25" BSP thread).

More simply, however, you need to fit the basin waste that is correct for your basin: almost certainly a 1.25". If (very unlikely) that is wrong for the pipework, then you'll need to deal with that as a separate issue.

OP I hope you're aware that an unslotted basin waste is unusual? However, if that is what you need, then go ahead.

Thanks all.
There is no overflow on the basin and the waste I removed was unslotted so I’m assuming unslotted!
thanks for your help.

yes unslotted then grab some plumbers mate while your at it to install the waste

I'm not reacting to this, though you know I want to...
Not to worry Ric, bit late but I'll react to it.
Well done Sean thank god you suggested plumbers mate - the correct solution to seal waste to basin.