Search the forum,

Discuss Attaching a Water Filter - Help with Fittings (Complete novice) in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

plonkerplumber

Hi people,

I am trying to do a basic plumbing installation, and would like some pointers, as i have never done any plumbing in my life, and i want to do the job right and as simply as possible, without fuss, and preferrably without calling a plumber out. I want a challenge! I want to use push-fit (sharkbite) connectors, and do not want to solder or heat anything.

I have bought a water device/filter which i want to install on my cold water pipe feed in my appartment ( in Greece). The product is meant to be installed in the water entrance to the building (after the water meter). I will be putting it inside the appartment in the only accessible place which is where the main cold water feed comes through from a wall and enters a small room where the water boiler is, plus a washing washing, plus shower, toilet, basic, and pipes go to the other rooms from there. So I know where it needs to go, but i want to understand exactly what connections are needed. The filter i want to attach has Entry/Exit screw threads: 3⁄4” and/or 1” BSPT, the manual says. It comes with 2 plastic white diameter changers for pipe screwing to allow a 3/4" pipe to be screwed in, if i understand right. I want to cut the water pipe, attach the device, and join the cutted pipe ends with sharkbite couplers (see photo), but i am trying to understand some basics...