Search the forum,

Discuss ASHP with back boiler on wood stove, thoughts? in the Renewables area at PlumbersForums.net

Interested on thoughts on this (I've also posted on another forum but thought this might be a better place to ask);

Long time lurker, have gleamed some great knowledge from this site, finally signed up as I cant find an exact answer to the below. I'm not a heating engineer, but an electrical engineer that has mostly sussed how the current system works (feel free to correct any understanding/terminology below).

I'm at a stage in house renovation where it would be least disruptive to do this, I'm interested on thoughts on the following as its gone around in my head too many times.

I've got a 14kw (4kw elec) ecodan (monobloc) ASHP, I've reduced the energy use from 15Mwh down to 12MWh per year (there was a fault) and then further down to just under 9MWh per year by splitting into 3 zones -one per floor and a couple of other improvements).
Additionally, I've got a 6KW log burner in the lounge (no back boiler)

In the back of my head I'm wondering if I can make it yet more efficient to run by utilising a back boiler on the log burner in the lounge.

There isn't a buffer tank on the system and it has a single coil 210L tank for DHW. CH flow temp is weather compensated, HW kept at 55 deg c.

My thoughts are, 28mm run to log burner with back boiler in lounge (on a pumped system) and install a buffer tank (size a bit of an unknown 100-150L?) on the return feed to ashp after the 210L tank and situated next to it.

Originally I thought of a twin coil tank, but this wouldn't allow the heat from back boiler to be used on the CH circuits without interfering with weather compensation/cooling the HW.

After a bit more thought, this is where I'm trying to figure things out in my head.
Preferably the back boiler circuit would be unvented but I'm now aware of the issues with uncontrolled heat source etc here 2 tiers of safety required.