Search the forum,

Discuss Advice wanted on outdoor thermostat idea? in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi, my current setup is as follows (I am no expert and have worked this system out myself)

Ideal Logic combi+ 24 boiler

TRVs on rads in all rooms apart from towel radiator in main bathroom

Weather compensation sensor linked to boiler

Pretty well insulated house with little draughts and good double glazing.

———

I currently run this system from about October onwards through the winter without a thermostat and the house is always a comfortable temperature throughout the winter. The boiler is always on the lowest possible heat slope setting.

My concern is the amount of gas that I’m using on days where the weather is a bit warmer and the house warms by solar heating. Although no rads are on the towel rad and loop that supplies the rads is always running.

Do you think it would be beneficial to put a standard thermostat in a weatherproof box outside set to a cold weather temperature so if the outside temperature goes above a certain point the heating system turns off completely thus saving gas?

Thanks for your advice.

Mike.

If it’s weather comp it shouldn’t be on when it’s warm outside / very little

Is the curve set correctly?

Hi, thanks very much for your reply.

The boiler says heat slope 1.0 and the dial is turned as far down as it will go. It’s about 12 degrees c outside now. The burner goes off regularly before it fires up again for a short while. All rads in the house are cold atm apart from the towel rad which is on but not hot. Not sure how much gas it uses in this state but wondering with ever increasing gas prices whether I’m wasting money/environmental impact. I would not usually have the heating on today but can’t be switching it on/off constantly as the boiler is in the loft hence the outdoor thermostat idea.

You have a timer just leave it in the off ?

Do you not have an internal room thermostat connected to the boiler ?