Search the forum,

Discuss Advice on getting on the register in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

thefatroller

Hi all,
I'm looking at getting back into the plumbing and heating industry. I'm a time served plumber and have my advanced city and guilds in plumbing and heating. However I have been out of the industry for about 6 years as I have been working in the carbon fibre industry. I am looking to get on the the gas safe register. i have done gas work before but that was under the corgi scheme. From what i have read I need to sit an ASC course and work along side someone who is already registerd, to build up a porfolio.
Please could someone advise if this is correct.

Thanks for the quick response. Any idea how long it will take to build my portfolio up. Does it depend on my ability and number of gas jobs done or is it set number of days?
Thanks

It's the finding somebody to supervise and sign off your portfolio that will be the issue.

If you have done acs before and still have copies of your old certs you may get in as a cat 1.
You need to speak to a training provider.

Thanks again for the advise. I have someone who is willing to supervise me and sign off my portfolio. The only certificates i have are advanced city and guilds in plumbing and heating from about 30 years ago. I'm 48 now lol. I will check out my local college.
Thanks

As Tamz says (when is he ever wrong?) if you can provide your certs, (it would surprise you how many plumbers cannot, and therefore aren't allowed to be CAT 1) and they show you as having done gas before then you are a CAT 1 and can simply book assessment at any provider, I would suggest you get yourself some training first, it's not about your ability it's a skill passing the exam and training covers the "way" the questions are written but refresher training can be several days depending on your ability and does not require any portfolio at all