Search the forum,

Discuss Advice on Combi Boiler in the DIY Plumbing Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello - I was hoping for some advice and opinions on a new combi boiler

I currently have a 3 bed semi with a myson orion boiler (it isnt a combi) - the boiler was installed around 1989, hasn't given any problems and is still working fine. Due to the increase in gas prices it is time to change to something more efficient. I have a header tank in the loft, hot water tank in the bedroom, 1 power shower and eight radiators (4 doubles).
I have done a lot of reading and think I have a basic understanding of central heating systems, I am also a competent DIY plumber.
I am a little worried about losing my nice shower, its only a cheap thermostatic model that runs from the hot water tank, but it really chucks out some water, looking on the web I believe its around 14ltr min. When I change to a combi I don't want to end up with a poor shower - so flow rate is important.
I would like the new boiler fitted in the same space (it isn't essential but preferable) 400mm wide.
The 14 ltr min flow from the shower is a mix of hot/cold - so I guess 10 ltr min pure hot water from the combi should be enough to match ?
I don't want to go crazy but I may do a loft extension in the future so want some spare capacity. I'm not too worried about cost, if it only lasts half as well as my current boiler I would be happy.
I was looking at this :

WORCESTER BOSCH GREENSTAR 36CDI GAS COMBI BOILER
It has a great flow rate and looks like enough capacity for 10 radiators or more - they get a good rating and have a good warranty.

Any advice would be great - thanks

Hi richy92,
You don't need to worry atall about the heating capacity of a combi boiler (you'd be able to heat 3 houses with one) the pressure and flow from a combi will usually be better than a gravity fed system but it is worth checking your mains flow from kitchen tap. Getting a boiler that can heat more than you have is pointless.