Search the forum,

Discuss Advice on a newly installed system in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Aok1

I am looking for some advice from engineers regarding a central heating system we have just had installed which is causing us a few problems.

Every time the system is on there is a fair bit of noise from what I think is a problem with the pipe work, the noise sounds like 2 pipes knocking together and the pipe knocking against the joists. I appreciate there maybe some noise initially as the pipe work expands but this carries on for quite a while and can be quite noisy.

The guy who installed says there is nothing wrong and it is normal but I am not convinced, I took a floor board up and the pipes cross at one point and are tight up against each other, also they are quite tight against the joist. I am a spark by trade so I have seen a few plumbing jobs and the pipes have always been central in the cut outs and not touching anywhere.

He did say he couldn't cut the joist any further due to regs etc but I don't totally believe this due to the regs that apply to electrical installs but I take it plumbing will be different.

Also I was given his gas safe number - this is registered to a property management company locally and not him or his company, is this still valid if he works for them or is it only the engineer?

Any advice appreciated.

Thanks

Hi
The notching will be exactly the same as for your cables (if you have an on-site guide it is the same drawing)
Good practice is to sleeve the pipes as they pass through joist with something like hair felt lagging.
Who did you pay, the property management company or this guy ? What details are filled out on the Benchmark cert.