Search the forum,

Discuss 42mm Shower Trap to 52mm solvent weld - advice in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

moleman

Hi,

I'm a new plumber and still finding my feet.

One of the first jobs I did a year ago has come back to bite my bum, luckily it's for a friend but I want to get it sorted all the same.

I replaced their shower cubicle, the existing waste pipe was 50mm solvent weld (or so we thought as the time), it leaves the house through the wall into a roof cavity which isn't accessible (part of it's a porch, part of it's the bay window to the lounge - really frustrating design for any work to be done on it).

I'd never used solvent weld before and was getting increasingly annoyed why the 42mm push fit wasn't working - then the problem was worked out.

I fitted a reducer, which although claimed was 50-42mm it didn't quite fit to the solvent weld pipe, it seemed as though the solvent weld pipe may of actually of been 52mm.

In the end, after literally 2 days of going backwards and forwards to the merchants a way was found which after removing some part (can't remember now) of the reducer it slid VERY tightly into the pipe.

Now this involved removing the seal, it was ABSOLUTLEY not the right thing to do I KNOW I KNOW I KNOW, even then I wasn't in the habit of bodging things, but there comes a point when you've tried everything, and you've just got to make good with what you've got.

But today, they said they've got another leak in the same place, after going around to look at it this afternoon it looks like water's coming out from this joint between the 52mm solvent weld, reducer and 42mm push fit.

12 months on from that job I've still never used solvent weld again, I've got no experience of it. I've GOT to get this right this time.

QUESTIONS:

I can't seem to find a 52mm solvent weld > 42mm push fit reducer anywhere - do they exist?