Currently reading:
Boiler gas feed pipe pressure...

Discuss Boiler gas feed pipe pressure... in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

JMA

Hi, I'm a newbie here (and not a plumber!) so please forgive my lack of knowledge but I could really do with some information and help!

I had a new boiler fitted last week - worcester Bosch Greenstar combi - and the fitting engineer told us that the pressure in the gas-feed pipe to the boiler is not high enough for the boiler to operate at maximum efficiency or be certified. They also recommended that I get our gas supplier (BG) to replace the meter.

The pipe that feeds the boiler is a 22mm copper pipe and they want to replace it with a 28mm pipe from the meter to the boiler. Assuming the pressure of the gas at the meter is a constant, then increasing the bore of the pipe coming from the meter will reduce the pressure in the pipe and therefore at the boiler won't it? If so, then surely just replacing the meter is the correct way forward?

The engineers and representatives from the company are very decent guys and, I think, very honest but I'm just not sure they've suggested the correct solution for the problem we have.

Any advice/insight gratefully received.

Jules

A smaller pipe means that the gas will hit the sides of the pipe more, increasing resistance, therefore reducing pressure. You can't increase the pressure at the meter, 21mb is the usual standard pressure.